How to Remove a Google My Business Listing

There are several instances in which you will want to remove your Google My Business listing:

  • Your business is permanently closed.
  • Your business has moved.
  • Your Google My Business listing is a duplicate that needs to be merged.
  • The business location never existed in the first place.

In this tutorial, we’ll walk you through the necessary steps to remove and close you Google My Business listing.

Mark Your Business as Permanently Closed

If your business has recently moved or closed, you’ll want to update the Google My Business listing status.

Once the listing has been marked as permanently closed, the listing will still appear online, but the listing will indicate it’s now closed.

You can mark your business as permanently closed in two places.

  1. Fist, claim your Google My Business listing.
  2. Navigate to Google My Business and sign in.
  3. In the left-hand column, click either the:
    1. Manage Locations Button
      1. Check the box of the listing you would like to edit.
      2. In the top right, click on the Actions button and click “Permanently Closed”
    2. Info Button
      1. In the top-right of the screen, click the “Close or remove this listing”

Further Reading

Remove Google My Business Listing

Instead of marking your business as permanently closed, you can also choose to remove the listing. It is important to note that “removing” the location does not delete the listing.

Removing a listing means the listing disappears from your dashboard and you no longer have any ownership rights. In order to remove the Google My Business Listing, follow the same steps above by navigating to either the Manage Locations or Info tabs.

Remove Duplicate Listing

You should only have one listing per business location. However, it’s not uncommon for duplicate listings to appear. This often happens as management of Google My Business is passed between employees.

If you find multiple listings, it is important to report them to Google so they can be merged or removed appropriately.

Once a duplicate location has been moved, it can’t be recovered.

To remove a duplicate location in your account:

  1. Sign in to Google My Business.
  2. In your “Account summary,” click Duplicate locations.
  3. Click into the location you want to remove.
  4. Click “Delete this listing.”

To remove multiple duplicate locations:

  1. Sign in to Google My Business.
  2. In your “Account summary,” click Duplicate locations.
  3. Check the box for each location you want to remove.
  4. Click the three dot menu icon and choose Remove.

The above instructions assume you have ownership access to all duplicate listings.

More information about removing a duplicate location can be found here.

Contact Google My Business

Still have questions?

We suggest you reach out directly to Google My Business customer support which is free. They can resolve the more complex cases.

The following brief article walks you through the steps to contact Google My Business.

Also, be sure to check out rater8’s Google My Business Guide for Doctors and healthcare practitioners.